Julie Joyce’s Non-SEO’d Music Blog

Another Girl Who Thinks She Knows Music…oh, and SEO

Ultravox Live…Holy Freaking Hell May 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — juliejoycemusic @ 10:02 pm

I’ve been to several amazing shows in between writing my last post and writing this one (most notably The Wedding Present) but considering that I’ve just seen what has to be one of my all-time favorite bands since I was a young, young girl, I thought it was time…

Yes, I saw Ultravox, live at the Roundhouse in London, at the end of April. I came all the way from Greensboro, North Carolina to see them (and do a conveniently timed hen party, too) and they were worth every cent spent. Sadly, I only took one photo that night and it was in the toilet of the Barfly (not of me)…not very reflective really but then again I was much too busy being stunned by actually seeing Midge Ure in person.

Set lists and videos of the show abound so I won’t bother with that here. My lovely friend Mr. Brian Turner came into town from Scotland to come with us, dressed to the nines as always. We spoke with a few other concert attendees before the show and did some admiring of some truly amazingly gravity-defying hair on some Germans. We got in nice and early, suffering through the opening act…the poor girl was lovely but sang too much about peace, something I really didn’t give a crap about as I wanted to hear The Voice, and now!! I’m happy to report that the show greatly exceeded my expectations, which were quite high really…I mean, it was Ultravox! They really can’t go wrong, and they didn’t.

What made the show for me was that the band seemed to honestly be very, very emotional about the response from the crowd. I’ve never seen a crowd like that, where everyone was moving and singing and just getting into everything. I’m more used to the ones where we all stand around trying not to dance. This was heaven.

Money well spent, I’d say.

 

Leave a Reply

