Julie Joyce’s Non-SEO’d Music Blog

Another Girl Who Thinks She Knows Music…oh, and SEO

Rock Goddesses Part 1: Siouxsie Sioux June 27, 2007

Filed under: UK Bands — juliejoycemusic @ 12:58 pm

Siouxsie Sioux

I was thinking about women in rock the other day…there are so many amazing women in music. After seeing the doubleheader of Midnight Movies and The Raveonettes earlier this month, I was really in awe of the power of women onstage especially. Therefore, I thought I’d do a few pieces on the women that have most amazed me.

Number one is Siouxsie Sioux. Without anyone even coming close. I did get to see her at Lollapalooza way back when, and it was one of those moments I will never forget. She’s insanely gorgeous in such a strange way…I had posters of her in high school and wore my Siouxsie tshirt for about 10 years. Not only is the woman gorgeous, she has the most incredible style that no one can come close to imitating. I’ve never seen anyone that actually looked good with armpit hair but she did. She looked her best ever in the video for The Passenger though…like a gothic Louise Brooks. Budgie isn’t bad either now that I think about it.

Recommended songs:

Dear Prudence (her Beatles cover in case you live in a cave)

Hong Kong Garden

Spellbound (my favorite of all her work)

You can listen to all three of these on Amazon actually…

 

2 Responses to “Rock Goddesses Part 1: Siouxsie Sioux”

  1. Chris Says:

    Julie – Great choice! This is a topic that I claim some expertise, so I can’t wait to read more of your picks for rock goddesses. I could talk about women who rock for hours and hours. I agree that there is something captivating and just amazing about a woman who commands an entire audience the way that Siouxsie Sioux or, say, Joan Jett or Karen O can.

    PS, are you a Sleater-Kinney fan?

  2. I am indeed a Sleater-Kinney fan…their cover of More Than A Feeling is just brilliant. I also have a good friend who looks just like one of those girls.

    I’m thinking about who to do next…too many choices!


Leave a Reply

