Julie Joyce’s Non-SEO’d Music Blog

Another Girl Who Thinks She Knows Music…oh, and SEO

The Best Band You’ve Never Heard Of June 15, 2007

Filed under: American Bands — juliejoycemusic @ 5:20 pm

Or maybe you have…it’s House of Freaks.

House of Freaks was formed by the late Bryan Harvey and the still-with-us Johnny Hott, way back in the 80s when many of you weren’t born. I don’t think I can successfully categorize their sound without getting trite though, unfortunately. If you do any research on them, you’ll read the horrific stories about Bryan’s family being murdered a few years back–my advice is to skip over that stuff because I can assure you, it will depress the hell out of you. His family’s murder should not be what’s remembered…the man created some of the best tracks I’ve ever heard.

They didn’t put out a huge amount of records, but they did put out amazing ones. My favorite album is “Tantilla”, which I also think has the best lyrics overall of any album on the planet. It’s also on my top 10 albums of all time list (which I have yet to share and you’ll thank me most likely Gene.) The band drew comparisons to tons of other bands, none of which I would really agree with though since I think they truly had a unique sound. I could say something like this though…if you like Tom Waits, religious metaphor without the guilt, gothic Southern novels, and heat, you’ll like them.

I actually got into Sparklehorse through looking for House of Freaks information online. Johnny Hott is currently playing with Sparklehorse and I had the pleasure of meeting him a few months back when they played at the Cat’s Cradle in Carrboro. He has a gorgeous child and he was an amazingly unpretentious and likeable man, not to mention a fantastic drummer. Seeing him play was the highlight of the show for me.

I’m linking you to a video so please take a look…you can still get their records in many places so check them out.

 

Leave a Reply

