Julie Joyce’s Non-SEO’d Music Blog

Another Girl Who Thinks She Knows Music…oh, and SEO

I Like Gary Numan June 11, 2007

Filed under: Live Shows,UK Bands — juliejoycemusic @ 6:43 pm

I admit that liking Gary Numan might not be cool…he was my first crush way way back and I still think the man is absolutely brilliant. As someone in the IT field, I tend to always like the bands and artists that seem like, if they weren’t singing, they’d be programming, and Gary does have that vibe.

Anyway, if all you know about him is that he is considered a one-hit wonder in the US, you should check out his recent stuff. He’s been fairly big with certain crowds for awhile but unfortunately many people still think of him as the guy who sang “Cars”…a damn fine song but certainly not his best. As is the case with other so-called one-hit wonders (think Bow Wow Wow with “I Want Candy” and Modern English with “Melt with You”), the ones you heard weren’t always the best they had to offer.

Check out Gary’s reprise of “Are Friends Electric” here at http://www.youtube.com. I think this performance is total proof of the man’s amazing abilities.

 

One Response to “I Like Gary Numan”

  1. Julia Says:

    I know this is an (extremey) old post, but I agree. I prefer his newer stuff to Cars (though it is still a great song).


Leave a Reply

